Debating Society


The Senior Society

The Senior Debating Society at RGS Worcester currently meets on a Thursday lunchtime between 1.30pm and 2.15pm. The Society is open to anyone in Year 11 or above who is interested in learning how to debate. We generally use the BP (British Parliamentary) style of debating: for more information on how this works, please review the guides on Introduction to Debating

The Society takes part in a number of national competitions, including the Oxford and Cambridge Union Schools competitions, where we were finalists in both competitions in 2013-14 and finalists at Oxford in 2015-16 and 2016-17. We also participate in competitions including the ESU Mace, Debating Matters, the Taylor Trophy (current holders: Jane Thurgood and Nadiath Choudhury), the Birmingham and Warwick Schools and, for the first time in 2014-15, the Durham Schools competition. We reached the regional final of the ESU in 2016 and 2017 and were Champions for the West in 2015. We also won the Open and the Novice Finals at the Cardiff University Schools competition

The Society holds an annual competition, the Turner Cup, with local schools, King's Worcester, Bromsgrove School and Malvern St James. In 2015, RGS Worcester was proud to retain the Cup, beating King's by one point.

Squad training for the competitions takes place after school.

For further information on the Society, please contact James Thomas, the current Society President, or Heloise Messervy-Whiting, Vice-President.

Other members of the Committee include: Anand Patel (Chairman) and Miss Jane Waller, Head of Debating. Please see Ellie Carey or Ruby Potts concerning Twitter.